My Favourite Flight Safety Instructions

As woman I struggled all my life to accept my body as it is: I’m not Barbie, I’m not a top model and I’m definitely far from perfect.

But this post is not about being perfect. It is about the surprise I had on my flight back to the UK.

It was a cold evening following a very long two weeks and I was tired, sitting bored in the plane waiting to depart so I could finally go home to my beloved bed. The large and loud Italian group sitting next to me already drove me crazy, so I moved my attention to the safety instruction sheet in front of me.

Same old, same old… Oh my!

That was my thread of thoughts, honestly! The blond cartoonish woman has hips, a bit of a belly and thighs: it could be me!


Well, a part of me not being blonde and a not so curvy… but I could have been me! For one of the few times in my life I could identify myself with a drawing: it resembled real life!

Thanks Norwegian for having a realistic and not shaming female body shape in your safety instructions.

It was heart warming.

Leave a Reply

